Final Assignment – INTERVIEW FORUM

October 3, 2008 at 8:45 am (Uncategorized)

 

Regarding the questions: What I gained from this course? How my watching movie has changed? – About experience, history, examples!

 

§         Now I ask myself questions after watching a movie, especially a bad movie, regarding the production process stages such as development, preproduction, production, post-production and distribution and think of what did they do in each stage.
example: Who developed the idea in “Vantage Point” to run through 1 event 8 times? When I watch documentary films I ask myself who produces/ shots the scenes.

§         After I saw “I-Robot” I thought “what a great vision and concept!”; the idea of traveling into 2035 and the vision of how human life is gonna be – great!
MOST IMPORTANT thing I learned were the 5 basic elements of plot which is really a general format of blockbusters (usually you don’t learn about reality): believable main character, problem, attempt to resolve fails, crisis and last chance, happy ending

§         I get emotionally very involved in films so that I can really feel their pain and joy – and there were a few movies were I couldn’t breath and afterwards I was completely done with my nerves….. the great thing is now I know why: because of the screenwriting; they use bites, plot points, a mid-point and pinches to create conflicts, obstacles and curiosity
example: “Mr & Mrs Smith” starts with a bite (how they first meet in Beirut), plot point 1: they find out that both are special agents, plot point 2: their agencies try to kill them; in “Pirates of the Caribbean” Johnny Depp has in all 3 volumes mio. obstacles and pinches to keep the story exiting

§         After watching “Troj” and “Gladiator” I was one of those girls saying “What a man! I mean Maximus (Russell Crowe)/ Achilles (Brad Pitt) embody pride, honour and courage! Wow! Where are these men gone?” – the answer is framing and composition! The camera always viewed them from down upwards to let them appear supernatural. They were nearly always framed on the focal points (rule of thirds) with enough speaking room to let them appear that powerful and strong and the instrument of the focus combined with the lighting let Pitt’s Six Pack appear divine. It’s all a question of what they want us to see (benefits of actors) and what not (disadvantages of actors)!
Now when in films they view for a few second a car wheel and then show the actors on the horizontal and vertical lines of the four cross-points, I think “Wow! Great!”.

§         Regarding the Audio and Lighting I already noticed on my own that they have an enormous influence on the sense and the impact of the scene. Especially the impact of music on thrillers is fascinating which I experimented (switched off sound while watching thrillers because I was scared and when I heard my sister’s music in background the thriller seemed to be a comedy with the events that happened on the screen). What I didn’t know was that they have entire music libraries where they reproduce rumors like footsteps, alarm signal, washing, etc. to use them in films and that they have microphones in plants. What I didn’t notice about lighting before was that they really make nearly every action scene or special actions in trick films when it’s dark. I didn’t notice that before.

§         LAST COMMENT: I really enjoyed this course!

Leave a Reply

